Obituaries

Timothy Brown
B: 1969-07-05
D: 2016-07-25
View Details
Brown, Timothy
Celia Caves
B: 2016-06-07
D: 2016-06-07
View Details
Caves, Celia
Migda Cartagena
B: 1950-09-26
D: 2016-05-13
View Details
Cartagena, Migda
Agnes Keegan
B: 1929-03-07
D: 2015-12-13
View Details
Keegan, Agnes
Margaret Bassett
B: 1937-08-21
D: 2015-12-06
View Details
Bassett, Margaret
Pasquale Marino
B: 1961-09-06
D: 2015-11-12
View Details
Marino, Pasquale
Alexander Whitman
B: 1941-03-17
D: 2015-09-05
View Details
Whitman, Alexander
Albert Allotta
B: 1936-01-13
D: 2015-06-06
View Details
Allotta, Albert
Anna Helak
B: 1920-02-21
D: 2015-05-25
View Details
Helak, Anna
Evelyn Crookhorn
B: 1926-09-25
D: 2015-05-21
View Details
Crookhorn, Evelyn
Faustino Ortiz
B: 1946-11-19
D: 2015-05-18
View Details
Ortiz, Faustino
Eulalia Aguirre
B: 1930-02-13
D: 2015-05-02
View Details
Aguirre, Eulalia
Edward Callaghan
B: 1948-11-30
D: 2015-04-25
View Details
Callaghan, Edward
Sinisa Tasovac
B: 1921-07-23
D: 2015-04-10
View Details
Tasovac, Sinisa
Kathleen Ryan
B: 1958-01-16
D: 2014-10-31
View Details
Ryan, Kathleen
Albino Mizzaro
B: 1940-05-17
D: 2014-09-02
View Details
Mizzaro, Albino
Blanca Miranda
B: 1923-10-09
D: 2014-08-21
View Details
Miranda, Blanca
W. Stanley McDermott
B: 1923-11-17
D: 2014-07-24
View Details
McDermott, W. Stanley
Maria Luzuriaga
D: 2014-07-24
View Details
Luzuriaga, Maria
Gregorio Aguirre
B: 1931-03-12
D: 2014-07-11
View Details
Aguirre, Gregorio
Martha Muller
B: 1924-08-21
D: 2014-07-08
View Details
Muller, Martha

Search

Use the form above to find your loved one. You can search using the name of your loved one, or any family name for current or past services entrusted to our firm.

Click here to view all obituaries
Search Obituaries
189-06 Liberty Avenue
Hollis, NY 11412
Phone: 212-683-1798
Fax: 646-518-9275

Reviews by Families We Have Served

The following review was posted on Google:

Joseph Crocitto *****  5 Stars  -- Posted 8/30/2017
A few years ago, a friend suggested that I pre-plan my mother's funeral, since it would relieve me of making important decisions during a period of great stress and grief. He referred me to the Dimiceli Funeral Home, since the viewing of both his Mom & Dad were at Dimiceli. I met with Josephine Dimiceli the Owner & Director. She took me to her private office where we first discussed matters of mutual interest. This put me at ease. I then knew I was in the hands of a comforting and caring person. I must say, she is a professional in every sense of the word. I being a male, Josephine went as far as to color coordinate my mother's clothing for me. Mom passed at the age of 93 and I was concerned about the wrinkles in her face and thinning hair. Well, those wrinkles disappeared and her hair style was outstanding. I was amazed as to how good Mom looked. At the cemetery, after the priest finished prayers, Josephine read a very touching poem. I have now pre-planned my own funeral arrangements with Dimiceli Funeral Home. I give Dimiceli Funeral Home Five stars and recommend it to everyone.
 

 

The following reviews were posted on YELP.com

Maria D.   

Mendham, NJ   ***** 5 Stars   8/26/2015

THANK YOU JOSEPHINE
I found Josephine online and I could not be happier and more grateful. Two years ago my uncles got sick.  So I was presented with the responsibility of their care. As part of it, I needed to pre-arrange for future funeral arrangements.

 For the past two years Josephine has been there guiding me, encouraging me, and making the process easier. When the time came she took care of everything. So professional and so personal at the same time!

I strongly recommend Dimiceli Funeral Home. 
Thank you Josephine...As you told me, the last farewell for my uncles was beautiful, perfect for them. Thanks again and may they rest in peace

 

John H.

  • Westwood, NJ   ***** 5 Stars 6/10/15

My mother passed away this year on Memorial Day, at 4 AM. She was 95 years old. I am very happy I found the Dimiceli Funeral Home and Josephine through Yelp. Everything was taken care of quickly and respectfully. I did not want a wake but was persuaded by her friends to have one. Now I'm glad I did. I final view was to see her at peace, at rest. The funeral home did a wonderful piece of art work and I was not the only one to comment on it. She was laid to rest next to my father in New Jersey and Josephine had loving words to say. I found Dimiceli through Yelp and now I can also highly recommend them.

Nicole C.     San Francisco, CA     ***** 5 stars  1/5/2014

I can't say enough positive things about Josephine and Dimiceli & Sons. I needed to choose a funeral home in Manhattan from my home in San Francisco. I read the original amazing Yelp review and thought I would contact Josephine. She did not disappoint. From the very beginning, she was friendly, helpful, and put my mind at ease. She answered any questions I had and kept in constant contact. She took care of everything with professionalism and kindness. 

I signed up for Yelp today specifically so I could share my wonderful experience with Josephine. I HIGHLY recommend Dimiceli & Sons for any funeral-related issues. I had never dealt with the death/funeral process firsthand but Josephine made it painless and efficient.

Emily R.     Newfield, NY     ***** 5 stars  6/2/2013              

Since I found Dimiceli and Sons through Yelp, I thought it is only right that I post a review that might help others do the same. As with the other reviewer on here, I had very distinct needs. My mother died suddenly, so I needed a funeral home quickly. She lived in New York City, while the burial site was going to be near my home, 6 hours away. And it was a green burial, so my mother's body was not going to be embalmed (and thus needed cold storage until the services several days later) and I needed a simple pine coffin. After unpleasant conversations with four other funeral homes -- three near my home and one other in New York City, I called Dimiceli. Josephine, who runs this organization, was absolutely wonderful. I can't say enough good things -- she put us at ease, told us everything we needed to know about the process, made arrangements with the burial site in upstate New York, and never tried to upsell us or push us into anything we didn't want. She put my mind so at ease during an incredibly overwhelming time... Her staff who came to pick up my mother's body were so respectful... And as asked, she arrived early for the service at the green cemetery, a six hour drive away. She led a respectful small service that was just right for the setting. I truly can't recommend Josephine or Dimiceli and Sons enough, and am so grateful to them for making a very hard time for me easier..

Michael G.     Knox County, TN     ****** 5 Stars  5/21/2013

The professionalism of the director is fantastic.    She is 200% dedicated to the family/families she is serving. I've watched her in action and she couldn't do enough for the people. I was handling my grandfather's funeral quite well, but the way that she did the service at the gravesite you would think she knew my grandfather forever. She made everyone feel so wonderful as we stood there and celebrated, yes celebrated his life. She is one in a million and I am telling all of my friends and co-workers that if the need arises...call Josephine Dimiceli of Dimiceli & Sons Funeral Home. She is WONDERFUL!!!!

Insider Pages Reviews for Dimiceli & Sons, Incorporated

★★★★★ Best Funeral Home & Services           
John M.     February 10, 2008

The Dimiceli Family truly cares about their clients if you are a first time client or repeat you are treated like gold and understood. My family has been using the services of Dimiceli since the days of it's founder in 1929 and still continue today.

Dimiceli makes a hard decision easier I would send my best friend to Dimiceli knowing they will be taken care of properly.

All Reviews (listed by most recent)

★★★★★ 5 stars     Provided by YP.com

one of the most compassionate directors…    
Posted by mindypape on 10/06/2010

One of the most compassionate directors I have ever met when handling a funeral.  Soft spoken and efficient.,   Everything was taken care of beautifully, beyond our expectations.

★★★★★  5 stars     Provided by YP.com

Professional, Caring, Compassionate
Posted by Alxwhite on 03/06/2010

I would recommend this funeral home to everyone. They went above and beyond and paid such special attention to our needs, as well as to every detail we requested. Their prices were reasonable for such excellent service. Josephine, the director, was a compassionate and professional lady who exemplifies the definition of funeral director. She does her industry proud, not to mention the 3 generations that proceeded her.‎

★★★★★  5 stars     Provided by YP.com

Exceptional!!!
Posted by quantitative on 10/18/2007

I don't know what I would have done without Josephine Dimiceli, this funeral director is a consumate professional. She attended to every detail personally and assisted us greatly since we never had to go through anything like this in the past. I hope you never experience a death in your family, but if you do...contact this funeral home immediately and have Josephine take care of your family member...she becomes like part of the family.

★★★★★  01/14/2009     

Posted by: Sayhellotomylittlefriend       
Provided by: Yahoo local

I would like to briefly state, that this funeral home handled both my parents who died within 6 months of one another. Every detail was handled impeccably, Josephine (the director) was one of the most caring and concerned human beings I've ever met. It was hard to lose both of my parents, but knowing that Josephine was there to tend to every little detail and take care of any problem that cropped up along the way eased my burden more than she'll ever know. I would recommend this funeral home to everyone.

Reviews by Google Users

★★★★★  Mario     Jan 26, 2011     EXCELLENT!!!!

At a time when I was at my lowest, these wonderful people supported me and provided my Mother with a beautiful "celebration" of her life. I was lost, Josephine helped me every step of the way from claiming the insurance, to putting up the head stone, to settling the estate to closing up my Mom's apartment. These people really know what they are doing!!! They are PROFESSIONAL, CARING, COMPASSIONATE, AND DILIGENT. These are the people you want to engage if you have suffered a loss.  

★★★★★  Nicholas     Oct 6, 2010     EXCELLENT SERVICE!

Just wanted to say thank you to Dimiceli & Sons for all their help during my recent loss. They were kind, compassionate and treated me and my family with the utmost respect. The funeral service was like no other I had ever witnessed so tasteful and dignified. Josephine, the director, made this a true celebration of life and we thank her for everything.

★★★★★  Apr 26, 2010     Exceptionally positive experience

The experience I had with Dimiceli & Sons Funeral Home and Josephine Dimiceli was very positive. I found her to be very responsive whenever I called her. she was on top of all the details. I didn't have to worry about anything. She handled everything with care. The day of my mother's funeral, I felt like I could concentrate on what I was feeling because Josephine had everything in hand. I felt that she was personally involved for our family every step of the way. Josephine was cost-conscious for our family, and yet everything was done with class and a personal touch. Everything was exactly the way we wanted it. I can't thank Josephine enough for helping to make my mother's "passing" a passage that was both dignified and simple--just the way my mother and my family wanted. by: Tricia Sharp

★★★★★  Xenobia     Mar 12, 2010     THE DIMICELI FAMILY IS AMAZING

My family and the Dimiceli family go back a very long way, and whenever we have needed them, they have been there for us with respect, compassion, and amazing service. What makes this funeral home very special is even if the families were not connected, I know that we would have gotten the same sterling treatment. That is how Dimiceli and Sons does business. Josephine Dimiceli, the current funeral director, made a very trying time incredibly easy for us. She instinctively knew what we needed and made it happen. My grandmother looked just as she wanted to as she began her final journey. I would absolutely recommend Dimiceli and Sons to everyone and anyone in the NYC area who needs these services. -- Barbara K Emanuele

★★★★★   Mar 6, 2010     Kudos to this funeral home

I recently attended a funeral service at Dimiceli's funeral home for the wife of a co-worker/friend. My friend chose to make pre-arrangements knowing how ill his wife was. He told me how wonderful and professional the director was and how she listened to everything he requested and that when that dreadful moment came when she passed, he placed one phone call to the funeral home and they responded and took care of everything. He said it was very comforting that at this terrible time he wasn't faced with decisions, the director knew what he wanted and she accomplished everything without putting any stress or strain on the family. I knew how sick his wife had been, but when I saw her in the casket, she looked absolutely beautiful. They did such an excellent job with her hair and makeup, looked like her when she was well. Kudos to the staff for taking the time to listen to their customers and to follow through with their instructions. I would definitely recommend these people. We all hope that we never have to face making funeral arrangements for a loved one, but if you must, these are the people to call.I recently attended a funeral service at Dimiceli's funeral home for the wife of a co-worker/friend. My friend chose to make pre-arrangements knowing how ill his wife was. He told me how wonderful and professional the director was and how she listened to everything he requested and that when that dreadful moment came when she passed, he placed one phone call to the funeral home and they responded and took care of everything. He said it was very comforting that at this terrible time he wasn't faced with decisions, the director knew what he wanted and she accomplished everything without putting any stress or strain on the family. I knew how sick his wife had been, but when I saw her in the casket, she looked absolutely beautiful. They did such an excellent job with her hair and makeup, looked like her when she was well. Kudos to the staff for taking the time to listen to their customers and to follow through with their instructions. I would definitely recommend these people. We all hope that we never have to face making funeral arrangements for a loved one, but if you must, these are the people to call.

★★★★★  Michael T     Mar 3, 2010     A long history of Excellent Customer Service and overwhelming care

This is not your average funeral home. The special care before, during and after the services is so exceptional the people who attend always comment on how well and personal it ran and ask for the name and business card. The Dimiceli's have handled my Mother, Father, Grandparents as well as Uncles and Aunts. I have and I will recommend them to all who unfortunately need their services. 

★★★★★  Michael     Mar 3, 2010     Couldn't ask for more

About a little over a year ago my grandfather had passed. It was a very traumatic time for me and my family. Josephine from Dimiceli and Sons did an amazing job in helping my family through this unfortunate mess. They showed great respect, response and sympathy for me and my family and took care of our every need without a problem. I highly recommend them.

★★★★★   Feb 26, 2010     Professional, Caring and Compassionate

 I would recommend this funeral home to everyone. They went above and beyond and paid such special attention to our needs, as well as to every detail we requested. Their prices were reasonable for such excellent service. Josephine, the director, was a compassionate and professional lady who exemplifies the definition of funeral director. She does her industry proud, not to mention the 3 generations that preceded her.

★★★★★  Joanne R.     Nov 23, 2009     OUTSTANDING SERVICE!!!!!!!

I recently attended the visitation of a friend's mother at your funeral home. I remarked to my husband on the way to the wake not to expect too much since she suffered so much and looked just awful when I went to see her in the hospital before she passed. However, to my surprise she looked absolutely wonderful   She looked as if she had gotten dressed to go out and then got tired and decided to "rest for awhile". You people should be commended for the fabulous job you did. I know the family usually tells the funeral director that they were pleased with the services (overall), but again I cannot emphasis enough how beautiful she looked and what a comfort it was to all. Well done!!!! I would highly recommend you people!!!

★★★★★  MH     Jul 28, 2009    Italy repatriation - did a great job - recommend highly

My mother-in-law had wanted to be buried in her hometown in Italy, we worked with Josephine Dimiceli, she was wonderful. She "knows the ropes" on this process, and she knows the staff in the Italian Consulate and at Alitalia, which helped this complex process move forward very smoothly. She and her colleagues treated us with sympathy and support and in a very professional manner, all the way through the process. The final cost was almost exactly what she had estimated -- that is pretty impressive considering the all of the variables. She was always available to answer our questions and deal with paperwork. And she is a nice and respectful person. We could not have been more satisfied. Summary: A+++++. P.S. - having gone through this process I learned some useful things re repatriation to Italy and I would be willing to talk or email with others who have to go through this. My email is: mh22@columbia.edu